How can we help?

Wrong Player Starts as East (Article ID 109)

< All Topics

Abstract:  If the wrong player begins as East, the hand is played to the end, and the winner is paid. At the start of the next game, the rightful East starts the game. The player who began as East incorrectly skips one turn at being East. 

Question from a player:  What happens if a player starts the game as East but it’s not their turn yet? 
 
Answer from the NMJL:  “If a player incorrectly assumes East position, the player continues to finish the game.  The next game reverts back to the rightful East and the round continues, skipping East for the player who erred.”

Source: Mah Jongg Made Easy 2020 page 19 #8 


Other answers from the NMJL:  When a player takes East position in error the hand is not thrown in, but, played through and paid if there is a winner.  Then, the rightful East takes her turn and the player who took East in error loses one turn at being East and the game continues.”  
 
Source for other answers: National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A (1970 page 4, 1976 page 4, 1977 page 3, 1978 page 3, 1979 page 3, 1981 page 3, 1989 page 5, 1990 page 5, 1991 page 5, 1992 page 5, 1998 page 6, 2001,  2003, 2005,  2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2014) https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Wrong Player Starts as East (Article ID 109)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Wrong Number of Tiles During the Charleston (Article ID 64)
Table of Contents