How can we help?

Same Discards in a Row (Article ID 124)

< All Topics

Abstract:   The League recommends that a player not call a follow up tile that is identical to the previously discarded tile “same.” This ruling is not found in Mah Jongg Made Easy. 

Question from a player:  When the same tile is discarded one after the other, can it be called “same”?

Answer from the NMJL:  “A follow-up tile should be named by the discarder…not the word “same”…”

Sources:  NMJL Bulletin Q&A (1976 page 3, 1977 page 3, 1981 page 2, 1982 page 4, 1986 page 5, 1991 page 12) https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Same Discards in a Row (Article ID 124)
Was this article helpful?
5 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 100%
4 Stars 0%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
How Can We Improve This Article?
Previous Rolling the Dice, Break the Wall (Article ID 148)
Next Setting up the Game (Article ID 143)
Table of Contents