How can we help?

Simultaneous Call for a Misnamed Discard  (Article ID 94)

< All Topics

Abstract:   A tile is discarded and misnamed, and two players call for mah jongg. One player calls the misnamed tile while the other player notices that the actual tile discarded is their mah jongg tile, and they call that tile rather than the misnamed tile. The player who wants the actual tile discarded and not the misnamed tile gets the tile for mah jongg, not the player who incorrectly named it. This is an example of how important it is for all players to look and listen when tiles are discarded.  This ruling is not found in Mah Jongg Made Easy. 

Question from a player:  A tile was thrown and misnamed.  Two players call for mah jongg.  One player calls for the misnamed tile.  The other player notices that the actual tile was thrown is their mah jongg tile and they call that tile.  They do not call the misnamed tile.  Who gets the mah jongg? 
 
Answer from the NMJLThe player who wants the actual tile that was thrown gets mah jongg, not the player who called the incorrectly named tile. Players need to look and listen when tiles are discarded.”  
 
Source: National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A (2020) https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Simultaneous Call for a Misnamed Discard  (Article ID 94)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Simultaneous Call for a Discard with Both for Mah Jongg  (Article ID 92)
Next Simultaneous Call One for Mah Jongg and One for an Exposure  (Article ID 95)
Table of Contents