How can we help?

Simultaneous Call for a Discard with Both for Mah Jongg  (Article ID 92)

< All Topics

Abstract:  When two players simultaneously call the same tile for mah jongg, the player next in turn gets the tile. However, if two players call the same tile for mah jongg and one player has started to expose their tiles, they are entitled to the tile regardless of whether they are next to pick. 

Question from a player:  I called mah jongg on a discarded tile.  Just a few seconds later, the player next in turn to the discarder also called mah jongg on the same discarded tile.  Who is entitled to the mah jongg? 
 
Answer from the NMJL: “If two players simultaneously call a tile for mah jongg, the player next in turn  is entitled to the claim, except when the other mah jongg declarer has begun to expose their tiles.”

Source:  Mah Jongg Made Easy 2020 page 20 #13 [g]


Other answers from the NMJL:

Just as long as you have not exposed your hand, the player next in turn would have priority.” 
 
“If two people call a tile for mah jongg simultaneously, the person nearest in turn to the discarder gets the preference.”  

“Just as long as Player #3 had not started to make any exposure as yet, next in turn (Player #2)would be entitled to the mah jongg.”
 
Source for other answers: National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A (2006, 2007, 2012, 2016, 2017) https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Simultaneous Call for a Discard with Both for Mah Jongg  (Article ID 92)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Simultaneous Call for a Discard to Expose (Article ID 93)
Next Simultaneous Call for a Misnamed Discard  (Article ID 94)
Table of Contents