How can we help?

Payout for the Player Who Discarded the Winning Tile (Article ID 97) 

< All Topics

Abstract:   Discarding the winning tile is not considered a penalty regardless of how many exposures the winning player has on their rack.  It is not recommended however, that a player throw an obvious tile needed to give a player mah jongg.  The  person who discard the tile pays the winner double the value and all others pay the value.   

Question from a player:  What is the penalty for discarding the winning tile?  What is the penalty to the discarder when a player has two exposures on their rack? 
 
Answer from the NMJL:  “It is not a penalty but a different ruling, that the discarder of the mah jongg tile pays double the value of the hand to the winner.  It was not considered a penalty when East paid or received the value of the hand.” 
 
Source:  Mah Jongg Made Easy (2020 page 18, Defensive Playing;  page 26, Standard Scoring 


Other answers from the NMJL:

“It is not a penalty but a different ruling, that the discarder of the mah jongg tile of the hand to the winner. It was not considered a penalty when East paid or received double the value of the hand.” 

Source for other answers: National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A 1971, pg 5 https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Payout for the Player Who Discarded the Winning Tile (Article ID 97) 
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Tags:
Previous Payout for a Self-Picked Singles and Pairs Hand  (Article ID 99)
Next Penalty for a Misnamed Discard (Article ID 67)
Table of Contents