How can we help?

No Joker Exchanges after Declaring Mah Jongg (Article ID 60)

< All Topics

Abstract:  Once a player calls a tile and declares mah jongg, the called tile must be used as their mah jongg tile. There is no circumstance in which a player can call a discarded tile for mah jongg and do a Joker exchange for the winning tile. 

Question from a player:  Can I declare mah jongg when my tile is discarded but need to do a joker exchange first? 
 
Answer from the NMJL:   “You may not first exchange a symbol tile for a Joker and then use that Joker to call the last discard for either exposure or Mah Jongg.  You must make your “call” first.”

Source:  Mah Jongg Made Easy 2020 page 23 #8


Other answers from the NMJL:

After mah jongg is declared there are no picks, discards, or exchanges for the joker.  A player can never declare mah jongg on a discard and then exchange the joker.”  
 
Source for other answers:  National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A (1967 page 4, 1968 page 4, 1976 page 4, 1982 page 4, 1985, 1991 page 13)  https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

No Joker Exchanges after Declaring Mah Jongg (Article ID 60)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Misnamed Discard and the Correct Tile is in the Player’s Hand (Article ID 80) 
Next No Limit on Joker Exchanges (Article ID 78)
Table of Contents