How can we help?

Mah Jongg In Error by Two Players and Another Tossed in Their Hand (Article ID 56)

< All Topics

Abstract:   In a rare occasion, when two players declare mah jongg in error and another player has thrown in their hand, the payout is as follows:   

  1. Player A declares mah jongg in error. The game continues.
  2. Player B also declares mah jongg in error. The game continues. 
  3. Player C throws in their hand.
  4. Player D, the remaining player is paid double the value of the hand player A & B were trying to make.

This ruling is in part answered in Mah Jongg Made Easy and shown below under source.

Question from a player:  Mah jongg is declared in error and three players continue to play.  One of the three players then declared mah jongg in error and one of the other two players threw her hand in.  What payment is due to the fourth player and by whom? 
 
Answer from the NMJL   “If Player A declares Mah Jongg in error and two other player (Players B & C)  throw in their hands, the player who declared Mah Jongg in error (Player A)  pays the player who did not throw in their hand (Player D) , double the value of the hand (Player Ahand)  they were playing.”

Source: Mah Jongg Made Easy 2020 page 17 #4  [c]  https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Mah Jongg In Error by Two Players and Another Tossed in Their Hand (Article ID 56)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Mah Jongg In Error and The Winning Tile is Wanted by Another Player (Article ID 51)
Next Mah Jongg In Error with a Partial Exposure (Article ID 55) 
Table of Contents