How can we help?

Mah Jongg In Error and The Winning Tile is Wanted by Another Player (Article ID 51)

< All Topics

Abstract:    If a player claims a discard for mah jongg and the player’s mah jongg was in error, the claimed discard remains with that player’s dead hand and cannot be called (claimed) by another player. 

Question from a player:  Can a tile that is claimed for a mah jongg in error be used by another player? 
 
Answer from the NMJL:  “If a tile is called and exposed resulting in Mah Jongg in error, the called tile must remain with the hand, even though another player wants to call the tile for an exposure.  The tile becomes “dead” along with the rest of the hand.  However, if another player wants that same tile for Mah Jongg, it may be called and used to complete the player’s hand for Mah Jongg.”

Source:  Mah Jongg Made Easy 2020 page 17 #5


Other answers from the NMJL:

If a tile is called for mah jongg in error, that tile remains part of the dead hand, even though another player wanted the same tile for exposure.” 
 
“If a tile is called for mah jongg, and that mah jongg is in error, that tile is part of the dead hand even though another player wanted that tile for exposure.” 
 
“If a tile is called for mah jongg in error, that tile remains a part of the dead hand, even though another player wanted the same tile for exposure.  Exception:  If that tile was called for mah jongg by two players, and the player next in turn has declared mah jongg in error, that tile is given to the second player who declared mah jongg at the same time.” 
 
“If a tile is called for mah jongg, and that mah jongg is in error, that tile is part of the dead hand even though another player wanted that tile for exposure.  Exception:  If that tile was called for mah jongg by 2 players, and the player next in turn has declared mah jongg in error, that tile is given to the second player who declared mah jongg at the same time.” 
 
“If a tile is called for mah jongg, and that mah jongg is in error, that tile is part of the dead hand even though another player wanted that tile for exposure.  Exception:  If that tile was called for mah jongg by 2 players, and the player next in turn has declared mah jongg in error, that tile is given to the second player who declared mah jongg at the same time.  Our reason for this is that we do not think a mah jongg hand should be penalized for an incorrect declaration.” 
 
“If a tile is called mah jongg in error, that tile remains a part of the dead hand, even though another player wanted the same tile for exposure.  EXCEPTION… if that tile was called for mah jongg by two players, and the player next in turn has declared mah jongg in error, that tile is given to the second player who declared mah jongg at the same time.  Our reason for this is that we do not think a mah jongg hand should be penalized for an incorrect declaration.”  

 Source for other answers:   National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A (1970 page 4, 1972 page 4, 1975 page 4, 1976 page 4, 1981 page 3, 1986 page 4, 1989 page 5, 1990 page 5, 1992 page 5, 1994 page 5, 1998 page 5, 1999 page 5, 2005, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2016, 2017) https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Mah Jongg In Error and The Winning Tile is Wanted by Another Player (Article ID 51)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Jokers Can Not be Used as a Single Tiles or in a Pair  (Article ID 46)
Next Mah Jongg In Error by Two Players and Another Tossed in Their Hand (Article ID 56)
Table of Contents