How can we help?

Joker Exchanges When Playing a Concealed Hand (Article ID 77)

< All Topics

Abstract:  A player is entitled to doing a Joker exchange regardless of whether they are playing an exposed or concealed hand. This ruling is not found in Mah Jongg Made Easy.

Question from a player:  Can you exchange a joker from an exposure if you are playing a concealed hand? 
 
Answer from the NMJL“Playing a concealed hand does not negate doing a joker exchange.  You are only prevented from calling a discard when playing a concealed hand unless the tile is for mahjongg.”

Source:   National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A 2020


Others answers from the NMJL: 

You may take a joker from any exposure whether you are playing a concealed hand or an exposed hand.” 
 
“A joker exchange always may be claimed whether playing either a concealed or an exposed hand.” 
 
“You may do a joker exchange when you are playing a concealed hand or an exposed hand.” 
 
“It does not matter whether you are playing a concealed hand or an exposed hand.  You may always replace a symbol tile for an exposed joker.” 
 
“You may always exchange a tile for a joker, regardless of whether you are playing a concealed or an exposed hand.”  
 
Source for other answers:  (2004, 2010, 2011, 2018, 2019) https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org 

Joker Exchanges When Playing a Concealed Hand (Article ID 77)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Please submit the reason for your vote so that we can improve the article.
Previous Joker Exchanges Are Optional (Article ID 62)
Next Jokers Can Not be Used as a Single Tiles or in a Pair  (Article ID 46)
Table of Contents