How can we help?

Penalty for Picking Up the Wrong Discard for an Exposure (Article ID 90)

< All Topics

Abstract:  It is every player’s responsibility to verify they’ve made a correct exposure. If a player calls a tile for exposure and picks up the wrong tile and it noticed later in the game by another player, the player who exposed incorrectly would then have a dead hand. This ruling is not found in Mah Jongg Made Easy.

Question from a player:  A player called a Flower for exposure but picked up a 1 Bam in error.  None of the other players noticed her exposure and play continued, whereby that player then declared mah jongg.  It was then noticed that the player had three exposed.  Is that player dead?  
 
Answer from the NMJL“The hand is dead.  It is up to each individual player to pick up the correct discarded tile when making their exposure.  You are responsible for your own exposure.” 

Source:  National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A 2012  


Other answers from the NMJL: 

It is every player’s responsibility to see that their own exposure is correct.”   

“It is each individual player’s responsibility to pick up the correct tile when making an exposure.” 
 
“It is each individual player’s responsibility to pick up the correct tile when making an exposure.  The player had an incorrect exposure when they declared mah jongg and therefore, their hand was dead.”   

Sources for other answers: National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A (1996 page 5, 1997 page 5, 2002, 2004, 2006, 2009, 2011, 2019) https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org


 

Penalty for Picking Up the Wrong Discard for an Exposure (Article ID 90)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Penalty for a Misnamed Discard (Article ID 67)
Next Pick First then Exchange Jokers (Article ID 79)
Table of Contents