How can we help?

Penalty for a Misnamed Discard (Article ID 67)

< All Topics

Abstract:  Penalty for a misnamed tile:

  1. If a tile is discarded and misnamed and someone points it out, the discarder must rename the tile correctly and no penalty imposed.
  2. If a misnamed tile is called and an invalid exposure made, the hand of the player who called the misnamed tile is dead, and there is no penalty to the player who incorrectly named the tile.
  3. If a misnamed tile is called for mah jongg, the player who misnamed the tile pays the claimant four times the hand’s value. No other players payout.

Question from a player:  Is there a penalty for discarding a misnamed tile?

Answer from the NMJL:   “A tile cannot be claimed until correctly named.  Correctly named tile may then be called for an Exposure or Mah Jongg.  HOWEVER, if Mah Jongg is called with the incorrectly named tile, the game STOPS.  Miscaller pays claimant four times the value of hand.  Others do not pay.   (b)  If the miscalled tile is called causing an invalid exposure, the calling player’s hand is now “dead” and there is no penalty to the discarder of the incorrectly named tile.”   

Source: Mah Jongg Made Easy 2020 page 19 #6 [a &b]


 Other answers from the NMJL:  If a miscalled tile is called, causing an invalid exposure, the calling player’s hand is dead and there is no penalty for the discarder of the misnamed tile. The caller should have been listening as well as looking when the tile was discarded. If the misnamed tile is claimed for mah jongg, the game stops and the miscaller pays the claimant four times the value of the hand; the other players do not pay.” 

“If the miscalled tile is called causing an invalid exposure, the calling player’s hand is dead and there is no penalty for the discarder of the incorrectly named tile.  If the incorrectly named tile is claimed for mah jongg, the game stops and the miscaller pays the claimant 4 times the value of the hand; others do not pay.  Remember, a tile may never be called unless correctly named.” 
 
“A tile cannot be claimed until correctly named. A player must look as well as listen before calling a discard for an exposed hand or mah jongg (see ruling regarding miscalling on the back of the card).” 
 
“A tile cannot be claimed until correctly named. Correctly named tile may be called for an exposure or mah jongg. However, if mah jongg is called with the incorrectly named tile, the game stops. Then miscaller pays claimant four times the value of the hand. Others do not pay.” 
 
“A tile cannot be claimed until correctly named. Correctly named tile may then be called for an exposure or mah jongg. However, if mah jongg is called with the incorrectly named tile, the game stops. Miscaller pays claimant four times the value of the hand. Others do not pay.” 
 
“A tile cannot be claimed until correctly named. If a misnamed tile is wanted for an exposure it cannot be claimed, there is no penalty. If a misnamed tile is wanted for mah jongg, game ends. Miscaller pays four times the value of the of the claimant’s hand. Other players do not pay. If no one claims mah jongg, the misnamed tile must be correctly named. It then may be called for pung, kong or quint for exposure.” 
 
“A tile cannot be claimed until correct named. If a misnamed tile is wanted for an exposure, the tile cannot be claimed until correctly named, no penalty. If a misnamed tile is wanted for mah jongg, the game ends. Miscaller pays declarer four times the value of the hand. Others do not pay mah jongg.”  
 
Sources for other answers:  National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A (1970 page 4, 1972 page 5, 1981 page 2, 1983 page 3, 1985, 1987 page 4, 1988 page 5, 1989 page 5, 1990 page 5, 1991 page 13, 1993 page 5, 1997 page 6, 2013, 2015, 2019, 2020)  https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Penalty for a Misnamed Discard (Article ID 67)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Payout for the Player Who Discarded the Winning Tile (Article ID 97) 
Next Penalty for Picking Up the Wrong Discard (Article ID 90)
Table of Contents