How can we help?

Commitment to a Joker Exchange  (Article ID 19)

< All Topics

Abstract:  Once a player receives a joker after it is replaced with the same symbol tile, the exchange cannot be reversed. They have committed to the exchange.  This ruling is not found in Mah Jongg Made Easy.

Question from a player:  When it is a player’s turn, they  made an exchange of a joker by taking the joker and replacing it with the same symbol tile.  Before they place the joker in their rack, they change their mind and want to put the joker back.  Can they do so? 
Answer from the NMJLOnce you make an exchange, you have already made your play and made a commitment.”  
Sources:  National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A (2001, 2014, 2015

Commitment to a Joker Exchange  (Article ID 19)
Was this article helpful?
3.3 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 20%
4 Stars 20%
3 Stars 20%
2 Stars 40%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Please submit the reason for your vote so that we can improve the article.
Previous Changing an Exposure (Article ID 158)
Next Commitment to an Exposure with a Joker Exchange (Article ID 17)
Table of Contents