How can we help?

Calling a Discard to Complete an Exposure (Article ID 16)

< All Topics

Abstract:  The letter “X” shown to a hand’s right indicates that the hand is an exposed hand, meaning you may call a tile and expose it to complete a pung, kong, quint, or sextet.  A tile may be called by any player at anytime during the game. 

Question from a player:   If I am playing a hand with an “X” can I claim a discard to complete a block of tiles?

Answer from the NMJL:   “In an exposed hand which requires pungs or kongs of Flowers, a call and exposure can be made during the play at any time.”

Source:   Mah Jongg Made Easy (2020 page 12, Choosing a Hand; pages 14-15, The Play)


Other Sources:  National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A (1971 page 5, 1972 page 5, 1982 page 3, 1983 page 4, 1984)  https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Calling a Discard to Complete an Exposure (Article ID 16)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Calling a Discard for a Joker Exchange (Article ID 121)
Next Calling a Discard to Expose a Block for the Year or NEWS (Article ID 146)
Table of Contents