How can we help?

Changing an Exposure (Article ID 158)

< All Topics

Abstract: If a player inadvertently exposes the wrong tiles or exposes too many jokers, they can add to or take away from the current exposure as long as they have not discarded. After a player has discarded, exposures on their rack cannot be changed.

Question from a Player: A player discarded a 6 Bam and I called it but did not rack it. By mistake, I exposed two 6 cracks instead of the two 6 Bams which I also had in my hand. I went to correct the mistake, but another player declared my hand dead. Was my hand dead?

Answer: As the rule is written at this time, it can be done where she could put back the 6 cracks and take out the 6 bams and do the exposure with the discarded 6 bam.

Other answers from the NMJL: 

“If a player calls and exposes a pung or kong, she may add to it or take away from it (upon second thought) provided she has not discarded.” 
 
“This player can make any changes to her exposure, as long as it is still her turn.   It is still her turn until she discards, at which point no changes to the before mentioned exposure may be made.” 
 
“You may add to the exposure or take away from the exposure as long as you have not discarded as yet.  Once you discard, you are committed to that exposure.” 
 
“Just as long as she has not discarded as yet, she may change her exposure by adding a tile or taking one away.  Once you discard, you cannot change that exposure.” 
 
“When a player calls for a discarded tile, makes an exposure of a pung, kong, or quint, that player cannot then decide that she does not want to make the exposure.  The player has made the play by call and can only add to or take away from an exposure as long as she has not discarded.”

 “Once a tile has been called for exposure and the exposure is put on top of the rack, the player may add to the exposure or take away from the exposure as long as the player has not discarded.  But the player cannot decide that she did not want the tile she called for exposure, put the discard back on the table and the other tiles into her rack.  A call for a tile is just like a pick from the wall.  Once taken, it cannot be put back.” 
 
Source for other answers:  Mah Jongg Made Easy (2020 page 15 para.2); National Mah Jongg League Bulletin (1970 page 5, 1972 page 5, 1975 page 4, 1977 page 3, 1978 page 3, 1979 page 3, 1981 page 5, 1984, 1987 page 4, 1988 page 5, 1990  page 5, 1994 page 5, 1995 page 4,  1998 page 5, 2003, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2016, 2017, 2019)  https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Changing an Exposure (Article ID 158)
Was this article helpful?
0 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 0%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Calling a Discard to Expose a Block for the Year or NEWS (Article ID 146)
Next Disqualified Player Must Remain Silent (Article ID 34)
Table of Contents