Category - Dead Hand Rules

About Dead Hands

Calling a Discard to Expose a Block for the Year or NEWS (Article ID 146)

A player may not use a Joker for either a single tile or in a group of single tiles. This rule also applies to pairs or a group of tiles with pairs. A single tile defined is a stand-alone tile or a group of tiles that are not identical i.e. 2020 or NEWS. During the game, a player may not call to expose a group of single tiles unless the tile called is the winning tile that gives them mah jongg.
Read More

Changing an Exposure (Article ID 158)

If a player inadvertently exposes the wrong tiles or exposes too many jokers, they can add to or take away from the current exposure as long as they have not discarded. After a player has discarded, exposures on their rack cannot be changed.
Read More