How can we help?

Called Tile Can be Racked (Article ID 12)

< All Topics

Abstract:  Although, the preference is to put it directly on the rack’s flat part, it is not required, a player can put a called tile in their rack, whether to call for mah jongg or for exposure.  

Question from a player:   A player called for a discard and declared mah jongg.  She put the discard in her rack amongst her other tiles and then made her full exposure for mah jongg.  Is this acceptable?

Answer from the NMJL:   “When exposing, it is preferable to place the called tile on top of your rack before taking the tiles in your rack to make the exposure”

Source:  Mah Jongg Made Easy 2020 page 14, The Play


Other answers from the NMJL:

“A player may pick up the discard, put it amongst her other tiles in her hand and then put up all 14 tiles for mah jongg.”

The best practice would be to put the called tile on your rack and then expose, but there is no rule saying it must be done in this order.”  

Source for other answers:  National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A (2013, 2020)  https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Called Tile Can be Racked (Article ID 12)
Was this article helpful?
3.8 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 33%
4 Stars 33%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 33%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Call for a Discard Must be Verbalized (Article ID 57)
Next Calling a Discard for a Joker Exchange (Article ID 121)

Comments are closed.

Table of Contents