How can we help?

5th Player Bets on East with an Earthly Hand (Article ID 140)

< All Topics

Abstract:  If East is lucky enough to have a winning hand after the Charleston, the hand is considered self-picked and the value of that hand is doubled.  This is called an “Earthly Hand.”  If the 5th player bet on East, they are paid just like the winner.

Question from a player:   Does the bettor get paid if they bet on East and East has a winning hand after the Charleston? 

Answer:  If a bettor is lucky enough to have bet on East, and East ends up with a Heavenly Hand, they are paid the same value as paid out by all other players. 

Source:   Mah Jongg Made Easy 2020 page 14 Bullet 7 and page 27, Five-Handed Mah Jongg http://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

 

 

5th Player Bets on East with an Earthly Hand (Article ID 140)
Was this article helpful?
5 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 100%
4 Stars 0%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Next 5th Player Betting Rules and Payment (Article ID 150)
Table of Contents