How can we help?

Arranging a Declared Mah Jongg (Article ID 8)

< All Topics

Abstract:  Once a player has declared mah jongg, it’s not only permissible but standard practice to display one’s hand in the order as shown on the card. A player should reorder their tiles according to the hand on the card once they have mah jongg. By doing so, it helps other players identify the winning hand.

Question from a player:   I called mah jongg and displayed my hand with jokers incorrectly.  Instead of pung, pung, kong, kong, I displayed pung kong, pung, kong.  Since I had the correct 14 tiles, can I rearrange them?

Answer from the NMJL:    “A player is not required to place exposures in the order in which they are shown on the card; however, when Mah Jongg is declared, tiles should be re-arranged to show the correct order.”

Source:   Mah Jongg Made Easy 2020 page 14


Other answers from the NMJL: 

Source for other answer:  “You are allowed to rearrange your exposed 14 tiles in order to display a correct mah jongg.”

National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A 2019 https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Arranging a Declared Mah Jongg (Article ID 8)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Please submit the reason for your vote so that we can improve the article.
Previous Any Run Defined (Article ID 129)
Next Bettor to Remain Silent and Cannot Change Their Bet (Article ID 123)
Table of Contents