How can we help?

Any number of Jokers in an Exposure (Article ID 4)

< All Topics

Abstract:  There is no limit as to how many Jokers may be used to complete an exposure. There is also no limit as to how many jokers can be used to complete a pung, kong, quint or sextet that may be a part of your hand.

Question from a player:   Do I have to have a natural tile in my hand to claim a discard to make an exposure with Jokers?  
 
Answer from the NMJL:   “There is no requirement that a player have any minimum number of “natural” tiles to complete a Pung Kong, Quint, or Sextet.”

A Pung, Kong, Quint, or Sextet may consist of all Jokers.”

Source:   Mah Jongg Made Easy (2020 page 23 #13, page 24 #15)


Other answers from the NMJL:

“These groupings of “identical” tiles may consist of all Jokers.  It is not required to have any natural tiles to complete a pung kong, quint, or sextet.” 
 
“You may use all jokers to complete a pung, kong, or quint.” 
 
“You may use all jokers to complete a pung, kong, quint, or sextet.” 
 
“You may call a discarded symbol tile and expose a pung, kong, or quint with the symbol tile and jokers.  You do not have to have a symbol tile in your hand to call for an exposure.” 
 
“You may use as many jokers as you wish and any way you wish to use them with or without a symbol tile.  However, do not “waste jokers if you can hold out a little longer.” 
 
“You may use as many jokers as you wish and any way you wish to use them with or without a symbol tile.” 
 
“You may use jokers from your hand and pick up the discard to complete a  pung, kong, or quint.” 
 
“You do not have to have a symbol tile to complete a pung, a kong, or a quint.  The joker takes the place of the symbol tile.  But, you can never use a joker for a single tile, in an answer, for a pair or part of a pair, you must have the symbol (natural) tile.” 
 
“Four like tiles (jokers may be used) must be in hand before a discard can be claimed for a quint in an exposed hand.” 
 
“Two like tiles (jokers may be used) must be in hand before a discard can be claimed for a pung in an exposed hand.  Three like tiles (jokers may be used) must be in hand before a discard can be claimed for a kong in an exposed hand.  Four like tiles (jokers may be used) must be in hand before a discard can be claimed for a quint in an exposed hand. “ 
 
“If a joker or jokers are exposed on one, two or even three racks, players are permitted to replace all of them with the symbol tiles when it is their turn.  If these exchanges result in completing mah jongg, it is considered self-picked and the winner receives double value of the hand from all the other players.” 
 
“If a joker and/or jokers are exposed on one, two, or even three racks, a player is permitted to replace all of them with the symbol tiles, when it is their turn.  If these exchanges result in completing mah jongg it is considered self-picked and the winner receives double value of the hand.” 
 
“If a joker and/or jokers are exposed on one, two, or even three racks, a player is permitted to replace all of them with the symbol tiles, when it is their turn. It becomes her turn either by call and exposure or the usual order of picking from the wall.  If these exchanges result in completing mah jongg, it is self-picked, and a winner receives double value of the hand from everyone.”  
 
Source for other answers:  National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A (1969 page 4, 1970 page 4, 1971 page 4,  1972 page 5, 1973 page 5, 1974 page 4, 1976 page 3, 1976 page 4, 1979 page 4, 1981 page 2, 1981 page 4, 1982 page 4, 1983 page 4, 1984, 1986 page 4, 1987 page 4, 1988 page 5, 1989 page 5, 1991 page 13, 1992 page 5, 1994 page 5, 1995 page 5, 1997 page 6, 1998 page 6, 1999 page 5, 2001, 2004, 2006, 2007, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015,  2017, 2019  ) https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Any number of Jokers in an Exposure (Article ID 4)
Was this article helpful?
4 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 100%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Previous Always Read What’s in Parentheses (Article ID 65)  
Next Any Player Can Stop the Charleston, No Questions Asked (Article ID 118)
Table of Contents