How can we help?

A Racked Tile Sits on the Slope (Article ID 2)

< All Topics

Abstract:  When a player places a tile on the sloping part of their rack it is considered a racked tile. Merely a tap or a touch of to any part of a player’s rack does not define it as a racked tile.   

Question from a player:  When is a tile considered “racked”? 
 
Answer from the NMJL:    A racked tile is defined as a tile that has been placed on the sloped part of the rack along with the player’s other tiles.”

Source:   Mah Jongg Made Easy 2020 page 19 #11


Other answer from the NMJL:

A tile is considered to be racked when it is sitting in the sloped area of the rack, along with a player’s other tiles.  Tapping or clicking the tile is not racking, nor is it considered racked if it is merely touching any other part of your rack.”  
 
Source for other answers: National Mah Jongg League Bulletin Q&A 2018https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

A Racked Tile Sits on the Slope (Article ID 2)
Was this article helpful?
4.1 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 50%
4 Stars 25%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 25%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
How Can We Improve This Article?
Previous 5th Player Betting Rules and Payment (Article ID 150)
Next After the Charleston the Game Must Continue (Article ID 120)
Table of Contents