How can we help?

Calling a Discard for a Joker Exchange (Article ID 121)

< All Topics

Abstract:  Discarded tiles cannot be called  for use in a joker exchange. Joker exchanges are done only when a player picks a natural tile that is in an exposure or already has the natural tile in their rack. This ruling is not found in Mah Jongg Made Easy.

Question from a player:  I had an exposure of three 6 Dots and a Joker. Someone threw a 6 Dot. Can I call the 6 Dot and take the Joker? 

Answer from the NMJL:  No, once the 6 Dot is discarded, it is a “dead” tile. A tile many never be called to replace a Joker in an existing exposure.

Source: NMJL Bulletin Q&A 2021


Other answers from the NMJL:

“A tile may only be called in order to make an exposure or for mah jongg. It may never be called in order to replace a joker in an existing exposure.”

“A discarded tile can only be called for an exposure or mah jongg. You may not use it to redeem a joker in an exposure.”

Other sources:  NMJL Bulletin Q&A (2020, 2012, 2011, 2010, 2009, 2008, 2003) https://www.nationalmahjonggleague.org

Calling a Discard for a Joker Exchange (Article ID 121)
Was this article helpful?
5 out Of 5 Stars
5 Stars 100%
4 Stars 0%
3 Stars 0%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 0%
How can we improve this article?
Please submit the reason for your vote so that we can improve the article.
Previous Called Tile Can be Racked (Article ID 12)
Next Calling a Discard to Complete an Exposure (Article ID 16)
Table of Contents